Cultivating and manifesting our personal visions

1017485_525785384150661_1607019312_n

Written on a piece of paper in the shape of a heart is the word Love. It is a word that has picked me today as much as I have also picked it for this reflection. The learning that comes from this word relates to the intention behind fully living in Love as I create this blog and continue to focus on the abundance that is already within me, within us.

At the beginning of 2013, I was going through a significant period of change and loss. It was a moment where I thought that titles defined me. Heifetz and Linsky (2002) authors of Leadership on the Line remind us that people do not resist change but rather loss. Resistance came in the form of denial for me—denial of my anger, denial of the red flags that existed, denial of how numb I was in the role that I had taken in this particular situation. I began this year, holding on to an energy that was part of the past. And, I was invited by a mentor from my Master’s program to dive in to writing, manifesting, and living my personal vision before I took another step forward.

“What is your personal vision statement?” he asked.

What a loaded question! If you are like me, you have probably experienced wanting to do it all–having multiple interests and passions that shape where to go next. I tend to put 100% of my passion into projects and relationships that mean the most to me, but with time, I have learned to discern what it is that truly ignites my heart. So, this is what I wrote: My personal vision is two fold: 1) to empower myself through the process of self-development, seeking to understand myself, sharing my personal story, recognizing my blind spots, manifesting the fire that is my core, and practicing mindfulness through the power of intention in order to 2) empower individuals through storytelling and dialogue by holding them through the process of self-exploration and revelation while also providing them with the leadership skills and techniques necessary for sustainable and transformational personal change.

What a mouthful! I think that the best part about writing this was recognizing how I was already manifesting this desire in my interactions and projects and also some of the gaps keeping me from reaching my highest purpose. Writing down my personal vision gave me a sense of direction and a new way of looking at my life with intention. I invite you to do the same-

What is you personal vision? How do you intent to connect your heart, head, and hand to make this vision a reality? How will you share your gifts with the world?

This is an invitation to connect to your inner wisdom. If it helps, I encourage you to sit in silence, asking the universe to guide you through these questions. Author and motivational speaker Gabrielle Bernstein (one of my favorites!) asks these same questions in a different format. Each morning she asks this of God, the universe, and her spiritual guides:

1. Where would you have me go?

2. What would you have me do?

3. What would you have me say? And to whom?

4. What miracles would you have me perform in the world today?

Allow these questions and the answers that emerge to sink in. Let them guide you to cultivate your greatest SELF. As you go through this journey, remember that one thing is for certain: LOVE. It is the most raw, pure, and powerful emotion that can mobilize even that which seems impossible. It has the power to heal and to enact the change that you want to manifest in this world. Tuning IN to our greatness requires a lot of self-love! I constantly have to remind myself of this as I, like many others, have been conditioned to seek love outside of myself: in my relationships, in my career, in my accomplishments. Yet, self-love is something that no one can knock down. When you overcome a challenge, or when life tries to knock you down, the universe invites you to realign yourself to that which is true to your personal vision…that which allows you to tune IN to yourself and to proclaim a love for yourself, for what you honor and believe in. Whether you have lost a job, ended a relationship, or have had lots of “bad luck” lately, pay attention to whether your actions were in alignment with your personal vision. And, ask yourself, “What is the universe trying to teach me?” If you listen closely, you might be able to encounter that which you were put on Earth to fulfill as your life’s purpose.

When you go through this self-discovery journey, you are still you and at the same time, you’re not. You evolve, you learn, you align yourself with your own power and are able to stand in it.

I might have started this reflection with a story of loss, but notice how this is truly a story of abundance. And, it is with this in mind that I realize that if we let it, it will come. And that there are endless possibilities  when one surrenders and lets Love guide us.

With love and gratitude,

Cindy

One thought on “Cultivating and manifesting our personal visions

Leave a Reply

